UK Screen Alliance & Animation UK elect new council representatives

Industry News  |  23 April 2018

Members of the UK Screen Alliance in partnership with Animation UK have elected new representative councils.

This was the first election held since the joining together of the two organisations in November 2016 and completes the transitional arrangements that have been in place since then. The UK Screen Facilities Council and the Animation UK Council are the main policy making bodies for their respective sections of membership and sit beneath an overall governing board of directors.

Whilst the UK Facilities Council election went to a member vote, the number of nominations in the Animation UK Council aligned with the number of available seats and so the member vote was not required.

The new representatives on the Animation UK Council are Jamie Badminton from Karrot Entertainment and Mark Taylor from A Productions.

Jamie Badminton from Karrot Entertainment and Mark Taylor from A Productions.

They join continuing representatives, Erica Darby (Spider Eye), Phil Dobree (Jellyfish Pictures), Ruth Fielding (Lupus Films), Ed Galton (CAKE), Oli Hyatt (Blue Zoo), Ian Liddell (Studio Liddell), Julie Lockhart (Locksmith Animation), Ian Mackinnon (Mackinnon & Saunders), Dave Sproxton (Aardman Animations) and Kate O’Connor (Executive Chair – Animation UK).

After the votes were counted in the UK Screen Facilities Council election, the newly appointed representatives are Lucy Ainsworth-Taylor (BlueBolt), Milly Ali (Timeline North), Cara Sheppard (Warner Bros. De Lane Lea) and Darren Woolfson (Pinewood).

Above (L-R): Lucy Ainsworth-Taylor, Milly Ali, Cara Sheppard, Darren Woolfson

Re-elected were Mike Kelt (Artem SFX) and Claire McGrane (Company 3). As only half the council seats are contested at each election, representatives remaining in situ are Fiona Walkinshaw (Framestore), Will Cohen (Milk VFX), Rich Moss (Gorilla TV), JP Dash (Fifty Fifty Post) and Sean Costelloe (The Mill).

“The line-up of the new Councils is really strong and represents the broad range of interests present in our membership. I’m also really pleased that the councils are diverse and that we have increased the number of women on the Facilities Council to almost 50/50.”

UK Screen Alliance CEO, Neil Hatton

“I’m delighted to be joining the Animation UK Council as we seek to strengthen and connect every facet of our industry so that its fullest potential is unleashed. There’s an important message to spread about the untapped excellence in the UK and build investor confidence around the world.”

Jamie Badminton, BAFTA and Emmy award winning producer and Karrot co-founder

“An important ally for studios like A Productions is Animation UK & UK Screen Alliance. So ensuring Animation UK has a voice that best represents the wonderfully talented, diverse and creative production talent within the wider animation community is vital.”

Mark Taylor, A Productions Managing Director

“I’m delighted to have been elected onto the UK Screen Facilities Council. I believe my wealth of experience in several sectors across post production lends itself well to me providing valuable input as well as a passion to support diversity and apprenticeship schemes within the industry.”

Cara Sheppard, director at Warner Bros. De Lane Lea

“I am really excited about joining the Facilities Council at UK Screen. UK Screen’s role of providing greater influence than its members can individually is an essential support to the industry as a whole. Driving the debate and supporting change and innovation is the area in which I hope to offer a strong contribution.”

Group Director of Technology at Pinewood Studios, Darren Woolfson

“I hope in my role on the UK Screen Facilities Council to represent the regional voices of post-production and offer valuable insight in to the creative community based in the North of England.”

Timeline TV, Commercial Director, Milly Ali

“I am delighted to have been voted onto the board of U.K. Screen.  They have consistently supported the U.K. post industry and I look forward to playing a role in helping them to continue to set the agenda for our future success.”

Lucy Ainsworth-Taylor, BlueBolt MD and co-founder

View more information on board and council members here