UK Screen Alliance and Animation UK unveil Outstanding Contributions shortlist

Industry News  |  26 January 2024

UK Screen Alliance and Animation UK are proud to announce the shortlisted nominees for our upcoming awards ceremony, which highlights the outstanding achievements made in our industry over the recent years.

As 2024 marks twenty years since UK Screen Alliance was established, we will be honouring this special anniversary and highlighting the outstanding achievements made in our industry over the recent years with an awards ceremony. The event will also celebrate our more recent partnership with Animation UK and our collective achievements.

The five awards categories, sponsored by TysersSimons Muirhead Burton (SMB), LucidLink and Percy & Warren, are as follows: Outstanding Contribution to VFX; Outstanding Contribution to Animation; Outstanding Contribution to Post-Production; Outstanding Contribution to Skills Development; and Outstanding Contribution to Diversity and Inclusion.

The shortlisted nominees were unveiled at a special event hosted by sponsors SMB at their office in London this past Thursday, on 25 January. These individuals have gone above and beyond in their sectors and through these well-deserved nominations, the industry celebrates their efforts and achievements. Congratulations to all those on the shortlist! See the full list below.

The winners will be unveiled at our gala dinner on Thursday, 25 April at Stationers’ Hall. UK Screen Alliance and Animation UK members can access the tickets here.

We would like to thank SMB for their hospitality and for hosting such a great evening of drinks, nibbles and networking.

Outstanding Contributions Awards Shortlist

Outstanding Contribution to VFX – sponsored by Tysers

  • Hayden Jones – VFX Supervisor, ILM
  • Jean-Claude Deguara – VFX Supervisor, Milk VFX
  • Jeremy Smith – CTO, Jellyfish Pictures
  • Sara Bennett – CCO/VFX Supervisor, Milk VFX

Outstanding Contribution to Animation – sponsored by Percy & Warren

  • Kris Kelly – Managing Director and Creative Director, Enter Yes
  • Martin Pope and Michael Rose – Founders and Joint CEOs, Magic Light Pictures
  • Oli Hyatt – Owner and Director, Blue Zoo
  • Ruth Fielding and Camilla Deakin – Joint MDs, Lupus Films

Outstanding Contribution to Post-Production – sponsored by Tysers

We received a unanimous candidate in this category, thus showcasing their commitment, dedication, and remarkable contribution to the post sector. This nomination is well-deserved and we will be revealing the winner at our anniversary gala event on the 25th of April.

Outstanding Contribution to Skills Development – sponsored by LucidLink 

  • Amy Smith – Global Outreach and Recruitment Director, Framestore
  • Phil Attfield – Co-Founder, NextGen Skills Academy
  • Rowan Bray – Managing Director, Clear Cut
  • Tom Box – Director, Blue Zoo

Outstanding Contribution to Diversity and Inclusion – sponsored by Simons Muirhead Burton

  • Alixe Lobato – Creative Director, Flying Duck Studio Lab
  • Louise Hussey – Executive VFX Producer, Industrial Light and Magic
  • Phil Attfield – Co-Founder, NextGen Skills Academy
  • Simon Devereux – Director, Global Talent Development at Framestore, and Director and Founder at ACCESS:VFX