Industry News  |  26 October 2020

Outstanding Work Recognized in Colour Grading, Editing, Visual Effects and Sound.

The HPA Awards Committee have announced the nominees for the creative categories of the 2020 HPA Awards. The HPA Awards have been the standard bearer for recognizing creative accomplishment and technical innovation, honouring outstanding achievement and artistic excellence by the individuals and teams who help bring stories to life. The winners of the creative categories will be announced in a live virtual gala on November 19th, 2020.  The gala is free to attend with prior registration.

Launched in 2006, the 2020 HPA Awards will be a celebration of fifteen years of recognizing outstanding achievement in color grading, editing, sound, and visual effects for work in episodic, spots, and feature films. Despite the difficulties inherent to producing an awards show during a pandemic, the HPA Awards Committee and the HPA Board of Directors were committed to recognizing the remarkable work produced in the previous year and bringing together the community in a spirit of celebration.

The 2020 HPA Awards Creative Category nominees are:

Outstanding Color Grading – Theatrical Feature

“Ad Astra”
Gregory Fisher // Company 3

“Gretel & Hansel”
Mitch Paulson // EFILM, Company 3

“Jojo Rabbit”
Tim Stipan // Company 3

Jill Bogdanowicz // Company 3

Natasha Leonnet // EFILM, Company 3

Outstanding Color Grading – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature

“The Alienist: Angel of Darkness – Last Exit to Brooklyn”
Juan Cabrera, Fran Lorite // LightBender

“Altered Carbon – Payment Deferred”
Bill Ferwerda // Deluxe Toronto, Company 3

“Catherine the Great – Episode 1”
Aidan Farrell // The Farm Group

Bryan Smaller // Company 3

“Watchmen – It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice”
Todd Bochner // Sim International

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial 

BMW – “A Mirror Into the Future”
Sofie Borup // Company 3

BMW – “This is Option 2”
Tom Poole // Company 3

Diet Coke – “Drink What Your Mama Gave Ya”
Dave Hussey // Company 3

NFL – “Next 100”
Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Ralph Lauren – “Deep Blue”
Tom Poole // Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Theatrical Feature
Sponsored by Blackmagic Design

“Ford v Ferrari”
Michael McCusker, ACE; Andrew Buckland, ACE

“Jojo Rabbit”
Tom Eagles, ACE

Jeff Groth, ACE

Jinmo Yang, ACE

“The Two Popes”
Fernando Stutz

Outstanding Editing – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature (30 Minutes and Under)
Sponsored by Blackmagic Design

“Insecure – Lowkey Happy”
Mark Sadlek

“Insecure – Lowkey Losin’ It”
Daysha Broadway, Lucky Justice Productions Inc.

“Insecure – Lowkey Trying”
Nena Erb, ACE

“The Righteous Gemstones – But the Righteous Will See Their Fall”
Craig Hayes

“What We Do in the Shadows – Resurrection”
Yana Gorskaya, ACE, Dane McMaster, FX Networks

Outstanding Editing – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature (Over 30 Minutes)
Sponsored by Blackmagic Design

“Mrs. America – Phyllis & Fred & Brenda & Marc”
Emily Greene, FX Networks

“Seven Worlds, One Planet: Asia”
Angela Maddick, BBC Studios Natural History Unit

“Seven Worlds, One Planet: Australia”
Nigel Buck, BBC Studios Natural History Unit

“Watchmen – It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice”
David Eisenberg, HBO

“Watchmen – This Extraordinary Being”
Anna Hauger

Outstanding Sound – Theatrical Feature
Sponsored by DTS

“An American Pickle”
Michael Babcock, Jeremy Pierson, Brandon Spencer, Jeff Sawyer, Dan Kenyon // Sony Pictures

“IT: Chapter Two”
Bill R. Dean, Nancy Nugent, Michael Keller, Tim LeBlanc, Erick Ocampo, Randy Torres // Warner Bros.

Alan Robert Murray, Dean Zupancic, Tom Ozanich, Jason Ruder, Tod A. Maitland // Warner Bros.

“Les Misérables”
Jérôme Gonthier, Arnaud Lavaleix, Matthieu Autin, Marco Casanova // Srab Films

Outstanding Sound – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature
Sponsored by DTS

“The Alienist: Angel of Darkness – Belly of the Beast”
Matthew Skelding, Lindsey Alvarez, Ali Hawkins, Al Sirkett, Tom Jenkins

“Away – Negative Return”
Jonathan Greasley, Darren King, Shaughnessy Hare, Dan Gamache, Jeffrey Dyal // King Soundworks

“Locke and Key – Welcome to Matheson”
Chris Cooke, Eric Apps, J.R. Fountain, Dustin Harris // Deluxe Toronto, Company 3

“Seven Worlds, One Planet: Australia”
Graham Wild, Tim Owens // BBC Studios Natural History Unit

“Star Trek: Picard – ET in Arcadia Ego Part 2”
Matthew E. Taylor, Todd Grace, Ed Carr, Tim Farrell, Sean Heissinger, Peter Devlin // Warner Bros.

Source: HPAonline.com